MHS honors third-quarter Students of Distinction

a grid of screenshots taken during the virtual students of distinction ceremonyA group of remarkable student leaders were recognized as “Students of Distinction” on April 30. 

The Monticello Student of Distinction Award was created to recognize and award those students who have demonstrated behavior and/or achievement above and beyond expectations. These students have been nominated by their teachers and have been chosen among several nominees to receive this quarter’s award. Each student is celebrated today and will be celebrated throughout the school year. They are a shining example of excellence in our school community.

Although the school’s closure during the third-quarter prevented faculty, students and families from gathering in the library for a ceremony as is tradition, the school held a virtual ceremony to celebrate these exemplary students.

The third-quarter Students of Distinction are: 


Roxanne Dastparvardeh


Ida Oestrich


Olivia Valentin

Foreign Language

Jacob Kaplan


Gabrielle Acosta-Herrera


Alexia Velazquez


Vonya Roche

Performing Arts

Savion Singletary


Hailey Taggart

Social Studies

Jenna Borko


Kristian Calderon