Class of 2018 Hall of Distinction inductees are impressive

The Monticello Central School District inducted six accomplished alumni into its Hall of Distinction on Friday, Nov. 2.

The Class of 2018 Hall of Distinction inductees included:

  • Anne Rappaport Kaplan – Class of 1938 – the first and only woman to be elected mayor of the Village of Monticello and an admired businesswoman.
  • Les Kristt – Class of 1964 – a business leader in the community and humanitarian.
  • Col. Kelly J. Lawler – Class of 1983 – a decorated veteran who served in the U.S. Army for 30 years.
  • Suzanne Rhulen Loughlin – Class of 1979 – an attorney and community activist who has received the Anti-Defamation League’s Americanism Award.
  • Jeff Siegel – Class of 1977 – entrepreneur, successful businessman and founder of the Bagel Festival.
  • Sheriff Joseph Wasser – Class of 1939 – a distinguished public servant for nearly 50 years, known as Sullivan County’s sheriff.

Students, residents, dignitaries and family members filled the Monticello High School auditorium to honor the inductees. They listened to their stories and how Monticello played such an integral role in their journeys. It was a true display of how #MonticelloRocks.

To view photos from the day, click here.