page top

red arrow bulletNews

Monticello Board of Education awards standout teachers, scholar athletes

March 21, 2016

At its March 17 meeting, the Monticello Central School District Board of Education awarded individuals from the district for demonstrating a greater than average commitment to students, education and the district’s community.

These awards are reserved for extraordinary performances that exemplify excellence in education and goes above and beyond the typical responsibility of the individual.

The following teachers were recognized for their commitment to Monticello schools:

Ms. Urvashi Gupta
Nominated by James Ryan, Director of Physical Education, Health and Athletics

“Coach Gupta has been coaching tennis for the Monticello Central School District for over 25 years, and has single handedly been the driving force behind both our boys and girls tennis programs during that time. Coach Gupta’s influence on our students has been impactful in her coaching, her teaching and also within the community. She has been instrumental in the future construction of the school’s first on-campus tennis courts and continues to serve as the Section 9 Boy’s Tennis Chairperson. Recently, Coach Gupta received the USTA Eastern prestigious regional Coach of the Year award. Her contributions both on and off the court, and her continuous promotion of tennis has been recognized at one of the highest levels. We are proud to have such a dedicated and passionate coach and teacher working in our district.”

Mr. John Maranzana
Nominated by Monticello High School Principal Stephen Wilder

"John is a person who looks for opportunities to get students and adults within our school community to come together and enjoy an experience. John enjoys creating experiences for others that will have a positive impact on their lives.  John organized the MTA Tinsel Trotl that raised money for the MTA scholarship fund and provided much needed resources to community centers that were in need to better serve our community. Hundreds of people participated in this event that brought community members, students, and district team members together. John is continuously thinking about how to bring people together to have fun and enjoy life. Students enjoy his classes and have written to him following graduation to thank him. When you are in need. John can always be counted on to either help out or lead the effort. Our school, and our community, is a better place because of John’s extra efforts."

In addition, the board of education recognized three teams as “Scholar Athletes.” Each year, the New York State Public High School Athletic Association honors teams that, as a whole, maintain a grade point average of 90 percent or greater. Each member of the team received a certificate and pin.

The following teams/students were honored as Scholar Athletes:

Boys Skiing – 93.27% GPA
Coaches: Steve Duarte and Scott Fitchett

• Kyle Foss
• Christopher Pitula
• Luke Farrow
• Alexander Bisland
• Christopher Pintado
• William Waterton
• Ryan Grodin


Girls Skiing – 94.74%  GPA
Coach: Jim Bates

• Morgan Mitchell
• Sarah Shamah
• Drew Taylor
• Mckaela Bunce
• Mackenzie Mitchell
• Megan Wells
• Kaleigh Gibbons
• Aubrey Soller
• Emily Wells
• Jessica Blakesly

Cheerleading – 92.38% GPA
Coach: Kelly Keesler

• Hailee Quiles
• Cristal Staten
• Adriana Bracy
• Juliana Kane
• Jahdeja Richards
• Erica Jahn
• Kara Fredell
• Krista Novello
• Allison Stein
• Leslie Fernandez