page top

red arrow bulletNews

Monticello Central School District announces 2015 Hall of Distinction Inductees

Ceremony honoring inductees to take place on November 6

August 12, 2015 - The Monticello Central School District is proud to announce the 2015 inductees to the Hall of Distinction. Five outstanding individuals will be honored at a special ceremony in the Arnold Packer Hughs Auditorium in Monticello High School on Friday, November 6.

The Monticello Central School District 2015 Hall of Distinction Inductees are:

Anne Grant (Alumna, Class of 1963)
Ms. Grant is a two-time Emmy award winner for her work as a television writer and executive producer. She has written and produced drama for radio, stage and television. Ms. Grant served as national education coordinator for the National Organization for Women (NOW) in the early 1970s. She edited New York City NOW’s original report on sex bias in public schools and worked with publishers to improve the representation of minorities and women in textbooks. Since 1985, she has focused on victims of civil war, domestic violence, child sex abuse, and family law malpractice in their struggle for safety and justice.

Robert Harding (Teacher, MHS Principal, 1959-1994)
Mr. Harding began his career with the Monticello Central School District in 1959 as a probationary 8th grade science teacher. He accepted a permanent position as a high school chemistry teacher in 1960 and was named Monticello High School’s assistant principal in 1970. He was made MHS principal in 1980, a position he served in until his retirement in 1994 after 34 continuous years of service to the district. With his oversight, Monticello High School developed gifted music, drama and art programs, an exchange student program, an accomplished debate club, and multiple service and community based initiatives. Mr. Harding served on several community boards and committees and received many awards and recognitions during his lifetime.

Hon. Judith Kaye (Alumna, Class of 1954)
Ms. Kaye was the first women to occupy the state judiciary’s highest office (Chief Judge of the State of New York). She is also the first woman to have served on New York’s high court (as Associate Judge, then Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals) and is the author of numerous publications. Ms. Kaye has dedicated her life to the improvement of the legal profession and the administration of justice. She has received many awards and recognitions, including the prestigious John Marshall Award, recognizing her dedication to the improvement of the administration of justice, the New York State Bar Association Gold Medal and the New York University School of Law Vanderbilt Gold Medal. Ms. Kaye exemplifies how a person can achieve and maintain success while giving back to the community in which she grew up.

Rubin Pollack (Alumnus, Class of 1941)
Mr. Pollack played an integral role in the transition of the district to a central school district. He was instrumental in moving forward the construction of four elementary schools, Monticello High School and the BOCES school, now named Rubin Pollack Education Center. He served the district as assistant superintendent for business and was president of the NYS School Business Officials organization. He oversaw the implementation of district run school buses; Monticello was one of the first district run school bus systems in the state. He was district superintendent of Sullivan County BOCES from 1971 until his retirement in 1984. Mr. Pollack participated in many civic activities: He was founder and president of Temple Sholom; a member and president of Monticello Rotary Club; and a board member of Community General Hospital, among others.


Dr. Robert Schock (Alumnus, Class of 1956)
Dr. Schock is well known for his work as a coordinating lead author on mitigation for the 4th Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). The 2007 report, co-authored by Dr. Schock, expanded upon the findings of three prior studies. The report furthered the connection between human activities and climate change and outlined how choices made by today’s governments and industries can affect public health, air quality, trade balance, employment and energy security in the future. Dr. Schock was on a large panel of recipients from IPCC that received the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize. He is an author or coauthor of more than 150 scientific and technical papers. Throughout his career, Dr. Schock has served on the editorial boards of five scientific journals and government and industry advisory panels.

The Hall of Distinction was established in 2012 by the Monticello Board of Education to honor highly successful graduates, former students and former employees who have achieved distinction, outstanding accomplishment, or have made a significant contribution within their school, family, career, community and/or personal lives. Inductees are selected by a committee consisting of community stakeholders, Board of Education members, faculty and alumni. The Hall of Distinction is located in the lobby of the Arnold Packer Hughs Auditorium in Monticello High School. Application forms for the 2016 Hall of Distinction will be available in early 2016.

For more information, visit the HALL OF DISTINCTION page or contact Laura McAndrew at 845-794-7700 ext. 70511 or by email to: