page top

red arrow bulletNews

Board of Education Presents Recognition and Scholar Athlete Awards

Teachers, support staff and students recognized for commitment to excellence

March 26, 2014


During the March 20 Board of Education meeting, two Monticello educators and one bus driver were recognized for going the extra mile for our students and schools.

"We are proud to honor and thank each one of these teachers, support staff and students for representing Monticello in such an impressive way," said MCSD School Superintendent Daniel A. Teplesky.

Danielle Cornish
, a special education teacher at KLR Middle School, was honored for her planning and implementation of an outstanding ELA Common Core lesson for the school's Parent Forum on Common Core. The lesson showed parents how to analyze the reader's perspective in the novel "To Kill A Mockingbird." Ms. Cornish is known in the district as a source of information regarding the Common Core and co-teaching. She was nominated by RJK Middle School Principal Nichole Horler.

Marc Gittleman
, a math teacher at the Middle School, was also recognized for his work associated with the Common Core. Mr. Gittleman organized a hands-on math lesson for the Parent Forum on Common Core. During his lesson, parents were able to ask questions about all three levels of curriculum. He is a valued member of the math department and was also nominated by RJK Middle School Principal Nichole Horler.

Arthur Decker, bus driver extraordinaire, anonymously donates gift cards for families in need during the holidays each year. Truly a selfless individual, he gives and expects nothing in return. Mr. Decker is a regular visitor to the Cooke School where he stops to have lunch and conversation with the students that he transports to and from school each day. The students love when their special driver comes to visit. He is a humble man and generous of spirit and truly sets a great example for our students. Mr. Decker was nominated by Cooke School Principal Sandra Johnson Fields.




The Board of Education also recognized two teams as “Scholar Athletes.” at the March 20 meeting. Each year, the New York State Public High School Athletic Association honors teams that, as a whole, maintain a grade point average of 90 percent or greater. Each member of the team received a certificate and pin.

The following teams/students were honored as Scholar Athletes:

Girls’ Indoor Track – 92.9%         Coach: Matthew Daly
Samantha Bisland
Jennifer Dennis
Laura Doherty
Samantha Dorn
Heather Giza
Camryn Johnson
Sydney Johnson
Jillian McEneaney
Mackenzie Mitchell
Deanna Snowden
Katrina Zicot

Girls' Skiing – 93.91%                 Coach: James Bates
Mckaela Bunce
Ashley McEneaney
Mackenzie Mitchell
Morgan Mitchell
Christiana Poli
Haley Ripa
Allison Kurthy