page top

red arrow bulletNews

Scholar Athletes honored at Board of Education meetingDoug Murphy presents the Scholar Athlete Awards

April 2, 2013

The Board of Education Awards Ceremony is to recognize those individuals who make a commitment to Monticello CSD students and schools. At its March 21 meeting, the season's Scholar Athletes were honored.

To be named as a New York State Public High School Athletic Association Scholar Athlete, they must, as a team, maintain a grade point average of 90% or greater.

As of the fall of 2012, the awards will be distributed on a tier level: Team GPA’s of 95% and higher will receive a lapel pin and school certificate, as in the past. Teams with a 90% - 94.99% will receive a certificate.

The Scholar Athlete Awards were presented by Director of Physical Education, Health and Athletics Douglas Murphy (pictured right) to the following teams:

Girls Track & Field – 95.098% Coach: Matt Daly

Team members: Mckaela Bunce, Laura Doherty, Samantha Dorn, Jordan Fredell, Geraldyne Gil, Kemberly Gil, Camryn Johnson, Sydney Johnson, Jillian McEneaney, Aaliyah McKune, May Rosario and Katrina Zicot

Scholar Athletes

Photo: Girls Indoor track, from left, Coach Shannon Dietrich, Jillian McEneaney, May Rosario and Aaliyah McKune

Boys Track & Field – 91.994% Coach: Matt Daly

Team members: Timothy Braunstein, Kieran Cavanagh, Omar Centeno, Michael Dzurica, Jonathan Harned, Shane Jackson, Timothy Jones, Ryan Katz, Jeremy Lin, David O’Rourke, Sean O’Rourke and Wolf Wolbeck

Scholar Athletes

Photo: Boys Indoor Track, from left, Coach Shannon Dietrich, Ryan Katz, Timothy Jones, Shane Jackson, David O'Rourke and Sean O'Rourke

Girls Basketball – 90.76% Coach: Karen Atack

Team members: Lena Episalla, Amber Grobusch, Aryana McKoy, Arianna DaCosta, Latise Sanders, Samantha Suarez and Quasia Walker

Scholar Athletes

Photo: Girls Basketball, from left, Aryana McKoy,Samantha Suarez and Arianna DaCosta. Also pictured are Board President Susan Purcell and Vice President Stacey Sharoff.

Girls Skiing – 92.61% Coach: Jim Bates

Team members: Haley Heins, Riley Lindholm, Ashley McEneaney, Morgan Mitchell, Mackenzie Mitchell, Christiana Poli and Haley Ripa

Scholar Athletes

Photo: Superintendent of Schools Daniel A. Teplesky with Alpine Skiing team members, from left, Jenna Hogue, Morgan Mitchell, Mackenzie Mitchell, Christiana Poli, Haley Ripa and Riley Lindholm

To add to the Scholar Athlete status, the Alpine Ski Team was also honored for winning the OCIAA Division I Championship for 2012-2013!

OCIAA Division I Champs