page top

red arrow bulletNews

New days, times for Summer Learning Academies in 2018

April 13, 2018


The Monticello Central School District is offering Summer Learning Academies on every grade level this summer. The academies are free of charge and combine academics and enrichment programs for the students in kindergarten through grade 12.

Please note: All summer academies start on July 12. The start date is incorrect on the district’s printed calendar.
Registration deadline for elementary and middle school students is May 15.
Registration for high school students is June 27 at the high school.


Elementary Schools

For students entering kindergarten through grade 5, the elementary level Summer Learning Academy will be held at Kenneth L. Rutherford Elementary School.

The learning academy is meant to maintain skills, prevent regression and provide enrichment programs for students. In 2018, the elementary school Summer Learning Academy is in session Monday through Friday, from July 12 through Aug. 8, from 8 a.m. to noon.

Busing, breakfast and lunch will be provided.

To learn more about the elementary Summer Learning Academy, contact your child’s assistant principal. At Chase, that is Virginia Gallet – vgallet@k12mcsd.net or 845-888-2471; at Cooke, that is Melanie Hector – mhector@k12mcsd.net or 845-794-8830; at Rutherford, that is Douglas Murphy – dmurphy@k12mcsd.net or 845-794-4240

RJK Middle School

Incoming sixth through ninth grade students attending the Summer Learning Academy will meet Monday through Friday, July 12 through Aug. 15, from 9:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. at RJK Middle School. Similar to the elementary academy, the purpose is to maintain skills, prevent regression and provide enrichment to students. Busing, breakfast and lunch will be provided.

To learn more about the middle school Summer Learning Academy, contact Jason Doyle at jdoyle@k12mcsd.net or Sara Kozachuk at skozachuk@k12mcsd.net, or call 845-796-5077

Monticello High School

The Monticello High School Summer Learning Academy is for credit recovery and enrichment. The session will run Monday through Friday, July 12 through Aug. 15, from 9:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. at RJK Middle School. Bus transportation will be provided. A grab-and-go breakfast as well as lunch will be served to all students.


Instruction is designed to provide students currently in grades 9 through 12 with additional time and support to gain the course credits needed for graduation as well as provide students with opportunities to study courses beyond what is offered at MHS.

Registration for the high school Summer Learning Academy is on June 27 at the Monticello High School library, 39 Breakey Ave. Students must have their address, contact information and emergency contact information with them.

Regents testing

Regents testing will be held on Aug. 16 and 17. There is no fee for Monticello High School students to take the Regents.
Out-of-district students may register for Regents testing. The cost for out-of-district students to take the Regents is $50 per exam, which must be paid at registration. They must also provide their school’s address and their contact information.

All students must bring proper photo identification when registering.

Please note: Out-of-district students must mail their own answer sheets (RICs), which may be obtained from their school. Answer sheets should be mailed to Chris Palmer, Monticello High School, 39 Breakey Ave., Monticello NY 12701.

For more information, contact Robyn Boardman at rboardman@k12mcsd.net or Christopher Palmer at cpalmer@k12mcsd.net or call 794-8840 ext. 10928 or ext. 10929.